Who We Are

The folks at Cancer Care Services have a tremendous commitment to help - and an even bigger heart!

Daniel Wessel, Volunteer

  • Our Staff
  • History
  • Board of Directors
  • Financials
  • Donors

Cancer Care Services Staff

Administration

Melanie Wilson
CEO
melanie@cancercareservices.org

Melanie Lara, CPA
Chief Financial Officer
mlara@cancercareservices.org

Todd Cooper-Dalton
Director of Operations
todd@cancercareservices.org

Kim Fulk
Development & Finance Support Coordinator
kim@cancercareservices.org

Jocelyn Calderon
Office Coordinator
jocelyn@cancercareservices.org

America Cortez
Office Coordinator
america@cancercareservices.org

Fundraising

Deanna Stuart
Senior Development Director
deanna@cancercareservices.org

Laura Misuk
Grant Manager
laura@cancercareservices.org

Rhea Jackson
Donor Relations Manager
rhea@cancercareservices.org

Kendra Heard
Development Coordinator
kendra@cancercareservices.org

Social Workers & Client Activities

Tracey Willingham, LMSW
Senior Program Director/Social Worker
tracey@cancercareservices.org

James Earl, LBSW, MPA
Director of Programs/Social Worker
james@cancercareservices.org

Megan Clifton
Client Connection Manager
megan@cancercareservices.org

Annie Presley, LCSW
Community Counselor
annie@cancercareservices.org

Erinn Anderson, LMSW
Clinic Social Worker
Erinn@cancercareservices.org

Margaritta Jackson, LBSW
Community/Clinic Social Worker
margaritta@cancercareservices.org

Dacia Whitaker, LMSW
Community/Clinic Social Worker
dacia@cancercareservices.org

Hailey Wilshire, LMSW
Clinic Social Worker
hailey@cancercareservices.org

Brittany Thornton, LBSW
Community Social Worker
brittany@cancercareservices.org

Niels Falk,LMSW
Community and Clinic Social Worker
niels@cancercareservices.org

Blanca Mendoza, LBSW, MSW
Bilingual Social Worker
blanca@cancercareservices.org

Kim Garrett
Child and Family Specialist
kimg@cancercareservices.org

Danni Howard
Eligibility and Enrollment
danni@cancercareservices.org

Registered Dietitians

Lisa Hall, RD, CSO, LD,
Oncology Dietitian Manager
lisa.hall@usoncology.com or lisa@cancercareservices.org

Caryn Fields, MS, RD, LD, CNSC
caryn.fields@usoncology.com or caryn@cancercareservices.org

 

 

Organizational History and Mission.

 

Mission Statement: Cancer Care Services serves thousands of individuals affected by cancer annually, in Tarrant, Parker and Hood counties, by supporting cancer patients, caring for caregivers and empowering survivors. It is our vision that everyone who is affected by cancer in our service area will find Cancer Care Services and that Cancer Care Services will have the resources to meet their holistic needs.

 

Cancer Care Services originated in 1946 when Fort Worth physicians observed the non-medical challenges that low-income cancer patients faced while undergoing treatment, such as loss of health insurance, lack of transportation to treatment, and the inability to afford prescription medications. In response, a group of compassionate physicians and community leaders created a unique and inventive organization for cancer patients. For more than 70 years, Cancer Care Services has been continuously been providing financial and emotional support services to cancer patients, caregivers and survivors in Tarrant County. In September 1988, Hood County resident began receiving services, and Parker County in April 1997.

 

Community Need.

 

According to the American Cancer Society, 116,200 individuals living in Texas will be diagnosed with cancer, and 40,260 will die of the disease in 2017 (more than 100 people per day). According to 2017 data from the Texas Department of State Health Services, 8,380 people will be diagnosed with in Tarrant County, 802 in Parker County, and 350 in Hood County. At the outset of a cancer diagnosis, cancer patients and their families must endure the stresses caused by physically demanding treatments and the health impairment, disability, fatigue and pain that can result. However, a cancer diagnosis can also lead to financial, emotional and mental distress that affects the overall quality of life of the cancer patient and their caregivers. Individuals with limited income may experience financial stress as they worry about how to access or keep from losing the health insurance coverage they need to pay for their treatment and other health-related expenses. In turn, the ongoing impact of cancer treatment can create emotional distress and mental health issues amongst cancer patients and caregivers, particularly for those who have a weak or absent social support system. As they intertwine, physical, psychological and social stressors decrease a patient’s quality of life and in turn their ability to survive cancer.

 

In fact, according to the findings of an observational study presented at the American Society of Clinical Oncology, financial distress resulting from out-of-pocket cancer treatment costs increases the risk of death by 79%. The Association of Oncology Social Work conducted a survey of cancer patients in which more than half indicated cancer treatment costs negatively impacted their focus on recovery. Of those patients with major financial challenges, 66% reported suffering from depression and anxiety. Altogether, these “hidden costs” of cancer create a substantial economic burden for the entire community through financial loss, lost productivity, ongoing health problems, reduced quality of life and premature death.

 

According to a recent study, one in three people diagnosed with cancer end up struggling with a mental health disorder, the most common affecting cancer patients being anxiety disorders (including PTSD) and adjustment disorders. Population-based data suggests that cancer survivors are more than twice as likely to have disabling psychological problems compared with adults without cancer, and individuals who have both cancer and other chronic illnesses have a risk of psychological disability that is nearly 6 times higher than that of adults without cancer. The family members of those going through cancer are at an increased risk for depression and anxiety, particularly in the case of those who are acting in a caregiver role. According to the National Cancer Institute, depressive symptoms in caregivers can be similar to, or even higher than in patients with cancer.

 

Cancer Care Services partners with cancer patients, survivors, and caregivers to improve their quality of life and empower them to care for their overall health. We accomplish this by providing case management and financial assistance to access critical health care services, as well as coordinating emotional/mental health and psychosocial support services that help clients improve their overall well-being, both short and long term.

Board of Directors

Peggy Booher
Community Volunteer

LaRhonda Brown-Barrett
Attorney | BNSF Railway

Stevie Dawn Blakely, PhD
Founder | Orange Compass

Charles Florsheim 
Attorney – Retired

Ann Greenhill | Board Chairman
Community Volunteer

Rosemary Galdiano, RN
Manager | Texas Health Methodist

Karen Garcia
CPA | Rylander, Clay and Opitz

Travis Hopkins
HR Consultant/Producer | Frost Insurance

Sally King, RN
Nurse | TCU

Bill Lemond
SVP of Sales | ACME Brick

Callie Matthews
Attorney, Global Supply Chain Contracts | Lockheed Martin

Jeff Michero
CEO | Michero Wealth Management

Betty Nethery 
Community Volunteer

Patsy Parr
Community Volunteer | Hood County

Brant Ring
AVP/Intermodel Hub Operations | BNSF Railway

Sue Shields, RN 
Director, Cancer Program | Texas Health Fort Worth

Michelle Squires 
CPA | Pedersen Jones Hughston Poage & Graham

Robert Sturns 
Director, Economic Development | City of Fort Worth

Misty Wilder
Community Health | UNT Health Science Center

Corporate/Foundations:

Thank you to the following corporations and organizations for helping us further our mission through their generous financial support during 2017.

 Alcon Laboratories, Inc
Allstate Insurance Company
Amon G. Carter Foundation
Amon G. Carter Star-Telegram Employees Fund
Apex Capital Corporation
BNSF Foundation
C.B. Baird, Jr. Foundation
Colleyville Women’s Club
Communities Foundation of Texas
Crystelle Waggoner Charitable Trust
Dubose Family Foundation
Federated Insurance
Fellfab Coroporation
Fit Body Boot Camp
Fort Worth Country Day School
Frost Trust
Genetech
Guido and Ruth Shumake Charitable Trust
Imperial Court De’Fort Worth/Arlington
Jeanne and Roy J. Grogan Charitable Fund
Joe & Jessie Crump Foundation
Junior League of Fort Worth, Inc.
Lockheed Martin AERO Club
Lowe Foundation
Mary Potishman Lard Trust
Nancy and John Snyder Fund of the NTCF
Network for Good
Oakline Floors
Pull-A-Part
Quilters’ Guild of Arlington
Robert S. & Joyce Pate Capper Charitable Foundation
Ronald McDonald House Charities of Greater N. Texas
Sid W. Richardson Foundation
Sigma Lambda Gamma Omicron Beta
SourceHOV Tax
Southlake Women’s Club
Sportsmen’s Club of Fort Worth
Susan G. Komen Greater Fort Worth
Takeda Pharmaceuticals
Texas Oncology
The Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders
The Gil and Dody Weaver Foundation
The Hodges Foundation
The Hyde Foundation
The M.S. Doss Foundation
The Morris Foundation
The Ryan Foundation
The Walsh Foundation
Transamerica
Troy and Associates LLC
United Way Parker County
United Way Hood County
United Way Tarrant County
Unity Church of Fort Worth
UNT Health Science Center
Virginia Hobbs Charitable Trust
William E. Scott Foundation


Heroes of Hope Corporate Mission Partners:

texas-oncology-logo-2015-large

tx_stk_b187csouthside-bank-2015jps-health-network-logo

acme-brick-logobaylor-scott-whitebnsf_color_logo_-_pmsfrost-bank-logo-1gmfinancial-4cpier1_imports_rgblogo-thfw-2