Who We Are

The folks at Cancer Care Services have a tremendous commitment to help - and an even bigger heart!

Daniel Wessel, Volunteer

  • Our Staff
  • History
  • Board of Directors
  • Financials
  • Donors

Cancer Care Services Staff

Administration

Melanie Wilson
CEO
melanie@cancercareservices.org

Melanie Lara, CPA
Chief Financial Officer
mlara@cancercareservices.org

Kim Fulk
Development & Finance Support Coordinator
kim@cancercareservices.org

Jocelyn Calderon
Office Coordinator
mara@cancercareservices.org

Fundraising

Deanna Stuart
Director of Development
deanna@cancercareservices.org

Amanda Walker
Donor Relations Manager
amanda@cancercareservices.org

Margaret Barron, LMSW
Grant Writer
margaret@cancercareservices.org

Social Workers & Client Activities

Tracey Willingham, LMSW
Senior Program Director/Social Worker
tracey@cancercareservices.org

James Earl, LBSW, MPA
Director of Programs/Social Worker
james@cancercareservices.org

Annie Presley, LCSW
Hood County & Parker County Social Worker
annie@cancercareservices.org

Cris Hinojosa, LBSW
Bilingual Social Worker
cris@cancercareservices.org

Erinn Anderson, LMSW
Clinic Social Worker
Erinn@cancercareservices.org

Margaritta Jackson, LBSW
Community/Clinic Social Worker
margaritta@cancercareservices.org

Dacia Whitaker, LMSW
Community/Clinic Social Worker
dacia@cancercareservices.org

Hailey Wilshire, LMSW
Clinic Social Worker
hailey@cancercareservices.org

Brittany Thornton, LBSW
Community Social Worker
brittany@cancercareservices.org

Danni Howard
Eligibility and Enrollment
danni@cancercareservices.org

Toni Hooten
Client Activities & Volunteer Manager
toni@cancercareservices.org

Registered Dietitians

Lisa Hall, RD, CSO, LD,
Oncology Dietitian Manager
lisa.hall@usoncology.com

lisa@cancercareservices.org

Caryn Fields, MS, RD, LD, CNSC
caryn.fields@usoncology.com

caryn@cancercareservices.org

In the beginning…

In 1946, Fort Worth physicians realized that low-income, under-served cancer patients faced numerous non-medical challenges such as loss of health insurance, lack of transportation to treatment, and the inability to pay for cancer-related medications. A group of compassionate physicians and community leaders created a unique and inventive organization for cancer patients, originally called the Fort Worth Cancer Society. Cancer Care Services has been providing cancer support services in Tarrant County continuously since its beginning as the Fort Worth Cancer Society in the summer of 1946.

 

Philosophy

Cancer Care Services recognizes that cancer affects not only patients, but their entire families. Cancer Care Services optimizes patients’ access to care by providing Innovative programs that provide financial, emotional, and social help for patients and their families, while supporting health care professionals who face systemic challenges on a daily basis.

 

Local Nonprofit

Cancer Care Services is a 501(C)(3) nonprofit organization based in Fort Worth, TX completely funded by donations. Although this provides fund-raising challenges, it allows the organization to operate independently without having to answer to a parent organization, or deal with the bureaucracy of local government. Unlike many national nonprofits, all of the money raised by Cancer Care Services stays in Tarrant, Hood, and Parker counties, providing services that truly serve the needs of the local community.

Mission

To provide help and hope to cancer patients, survivors, their families and caregivers through direct financial, emotional, spiritual and social programs, services and activities.

Vision

Everyone who has cancer in Tarrant County, Hood County, and Parker County knows about Cancer Care Services and the programs and services we provide— and we have the necessary resources to increase their capacity to survive cancer and increase their quality of life.

Board of Directors

Peggy Booher, Chairwoman
Community Volunteer

LaRhonda Brown-Barrett
Attorney – BNSF Railway

Leslie Crites
CPA – Rylander, Clay and Opitz

Callie Matthews
Attorney, Global Supply Chain Contracts – Lockheed Martin

Zach Fullerton
Vice President, SVP & Market Leader, First Financial Bank, N.A.

Rosemary Galdiano
Nurse, Texas Health Methodist

Karen Garcia
CPA-Rylander, Clay and Opitz

Ann Greenhill
Community Volunteer

Marcela Gutierrez
Assistant Professor in Practice, UTA

Travis Hopkins
HR Consultant/Producer, Frost Insurance

Sally King
Nurse, TCU

Bill Lemond
SVP of Sales – ACME Brick

Donna Mayes
CPA – Rylander, Clay and Opitz

Dana Ruth McCoy 
Community Volunteer – Hood County

Kathy McLean
Director of Creative Services, Cook Children’s

Jeff Michero
CEO, Michero Wealth Management

Betty Nethery 
Community Volunteer

Susan Nix 
CEO, Susan Nix Consulting Group

Patsy Parr
Community Volunteer – Hood County

Brant Ring
AVP/Intermodel Hub Operations – BNSF Railway

Sue Shields 
Director, Cancer Program – Texas Health Fort Worth

Katherine Stephens
Community Volunteer

Michelle Squires 
CPA – Pedersen Jones Hughston Poage & Graham

Julia Webb
Walk Manager, National Alliance on Mental Illness

Misty Wilder
Community Health, UNT Health Science Center

Corporate/Foundations:

Thank you to the following corporations and organizations for helping us further our mission through their generous financial support during 2016.

  A.M. Pate, Jr. Charitable Trust, BOA Trustee
Aegon Transamerica Foundation
Alcon Laboratories, Inc
Allstate Insurance Company
Amon G. Carter Foundation
Amon G. Carter Star-Telegram Employees Fund
Apex Capital Corporation
Arborlawn United Methodist Women
Assisted Services
Bosom Buddies
Carswell Retired Officers Wives Club
Charitable Realty
Concordia Preparatory School
Continuity of Care
Crystelle Waggoner Charitable Trust
Cucinello Business Services, LLC
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Fort Worth Country Day School
Garvey Texas Foundation
Genetech
Gibbs-Ryan Group
Guido and Ruth Shumake Charitable Trust
Insperity
Jeanne and Roy J. Grogan Charitable Fund
Joe & Jessie Crump Foundation
Ken W. Davis Foundation
Kiwanis Club Arlington Southwest
Lockheed Martin AERO Club
Mary Potishman Lard Trust
Nancy and John Snyder Fund of the NTCF
Oakline Floors
Oncology Nursing Society, Fort Worth Regional Chapter
Pilot Catastrophe Services
R4 Foundation
Relocity Real Estate, LLC
Robert S. & Joyce Pate Capper Charitable Foundation
Sid W. Richardson Foundation
Sigma Lambda Gamma
SourceHOV Tax
Southlake Women’s Club
Sportsmen’s Club of Fort Worth
Texas Oncology
The Arlington Tomorrow Foundation
The Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders
The Gil and Dody Weaver Foundation
The Hyde Foundation
The Lowe Foundation
The Morris Foundation
The Republic Group
The Ryan Foundation
The Walsh Foundation
TJX Foundation
Trademark Property Company Charitable Foundation
United Way Tarrant County
United Way Hood County
United Way Parker County
Wells Fargo Advisors
William E. Scott Foundation
William L. Redrow Arlene F. Redrow Trust


Heroes of Hope Corporate Mission Partners:

texas-oncology-logo-2015-large

tx_stk_b187csouthside-bank-2015jps-health-network-logo

acme-brick-logobaylor-scott-whitebnsf_color_logo_-_pmsfrost-bank-logo-1gmfinancial-4ckroger-logopier1_imports_rgblogo-thfw-2